Oaks day the Kentucky Derby in a day of recovery

This year was my first year going to Oaks day for the Kentucky Derby!! Oh man it was a blast. My friend Neil picked me up around 9, and we went to the track. I got my first mint julep around 9:30, so the day got pretty long by the end. Erica came out in the afternoon, and it was fun being able to joke with her and Neil. They played a prank on me at one point in the afternoon. My friend Pat who I worked with on the radio, as well as learning some writing skills from him came over and said hi. Erica said there was nowhere to sit so can she sit on my lap? I said sure, and Pat sat on my lap. I could have gone my whole life not having seen that.

After the Oaks we went to Neil’s brothers for a cookout. After the cookout we all played a game of football, and rather than falling on a bush this time I escaped with no injuries. Neil will hand me the ball and tell me which way to run. I scored one touchdown. His family is great they let me come over last year for Thanksgiving, and it was nice. I’m not from Kentucky, so I really don’t have any family in the area.

I kind of felt bad that night after the football game, because I’ve been drinking the last two weekends. I don’t want Erica getting the wrong picture of me. I decided after I took an hour nap or so drank a lot of water to take her out by the river for a little date. We sat and talked for a long time about goals, and our future. It was really nice, and I’m glad I thought of it.

My last post was me being truthful. Sight lack of sight it all doesn’t really bother me anymore, but when people bring it to the forefront I get a little uncomfortable. Ultimately I know it’s something I have to let go, but that doesn’t help in the moment of. One thing about Erica I love is that I can be so honest with her about my thoughts or feelings. I’m a pretty deep person, so I have a lot of them. She actually had told me one of her friends asked her what it was like to date someone blind? I told her she should have said it’s dark since I don’t use lights. She did tell me her response, and I thought it was pretty remarkable. She told her friend that she has to describe certain things to me from time to time, but most of the time she forgets I can’t see. She said that we’ve both been there for each other when we’ve needed to be. I’m feeling pretty relaxed for the first time in a long time.

This isn’t related to Erica or anything, but I am meeting with a realtor Thursday to start the first step and see how much I could get approved for on a home. I love it here, and see myself being here for at least five years so why not buy. I will write a lot about that Thursday night or Friday so stay tuned.

This brings me to Saturday Derby day! I had a hard time waking up, and I felt awful. I took Lyft over to my friends Mat and Amanda’s apartment. We then took the bus downtown to Fridays for lunch. I had a mint Julep and a Lily. I really needed something fruitier to settle my stomach. This guy during dinner walks over and says I’m scared of dogs will they bite? I said no they’re friendly. He then shook my hand and says remember my name Justen Triplet. I just thought that was a weird interaction. When I left Fridays on the street this person stood on the curb just laughing as I passed. Seriously I think they were watching me, because she was just standing there not moving. It made me feel uncomfortable for a second. I kind of thought to myself am my fly open, something on my shirt or face, or am I just funny looking?

After dinner we went over to my friend Nataly’s house for the Derby. I think we had about 10 people, so it was a good turnout. California Chrome blew everyone away; he had a 6 pace lead at one point impressive. After the Derby I went home and bought Netflix again. I have a love hate relationship with Netflix. I just love being able to watch things on demand with my apple TV, and they had some shows I really wanted to see, so I’ll keep it for a few months and then reevaluate.

Sunday I got Erica off to work, and then caught some sleep until about noon. I woke up to her coming in, saying we should go on a walk. I said quickly the sun will hurt my eyes it’s too bright. She accepted that for about 10 minutes, and then said your eyes are fake the sun shouldn’t bother them. I laughed, and we went on a walk around my general apartment area.

A big part of the weekend was us betting on the Cubs Cardinals games. The Cubs won the series thankfully, so she had to wear a Cubs jersey around yesterday. The Cubs lost last night, so I had to wear a Cardinals shirt to bed, so maybe that’s why I didn’t sleep well. We only got to watch last night’s game together, but it was great. We were both intense she slapped me a few times when the Cubs scored. Were pretty competitive people. All things aside it was a great evening. We’re going to Cedar Point at the end of May, so I think that will be a nice get away. We have been spending a lot of time together so far, but I really like her just being there. Tonight she will not be around, so I will have to adjust to the single life again fending for myself. I’m going back to Fridays for dinner with some old friends. I’m pretty excited!

Overall the Derby was a success. Pilot Neil is still in town, and was planning to do something next Saturday. His wife is having a hard time find work in Philadelphia, and he hates it there so hopefully they will move back soon.

I didn’t mean to go so long without posting, but I was pretty tired, so you get one longer summarized post.

Leave a Reply

