Fenway Park and Liberty Bell

One of the coolest memories of doing radio was being able to go to game 6 of the ALCS last year in Boston. Pilot Neil flew us in to a small town, and we rented a car and drove an hour in to Boston. Fenway Park was an amazing place to see a game especially game 6 of the ALCS. In that moment of hearing the crowd sitting pretty much field level I felt like I had accomplished something. I didn’t really get paid working with the Tigers, but they did give me that ticket for free which was cool.

My observations of Boston were that I walked away not really understanding the phrase Boston strong. Not to be too political, but I hate it when people build up something so much that it loses its meaning. It’s like if you say I love you all the time or sorry they kind of lose the meaning. I observed in a bar after the game people toasting to Boston strong. Really? Were you there? Did you lose a leg? Not saying that only the victims are Boston strong, but at what point does it get over used and lose its meaning. I feel for the victims though, and think they deserve better.

Like Wrigley Field Fenway is special. Being in a place where so much history has happened felt amazing. I wish I could have felt the left field wall though to see how the green monster actually looks. Being blind I can hear how the announcers describe it, but actually getting a chance to feel it or see the angle of it would have been cool. There were way too many people to try and walk around though.

I remember going to Philadelphia when I was 13 or so, and they let me feel the real liberty bell. That was pretty neat, because I could feel the crack, and being able to touch that kind of history was pretty remarkable. I remember the wood was beautiful so smooth to touch.

Leave a Reply

