Adaptive technology on a daily basis

My last post leads me to a question I get a lot. The question is doing a lot of your devices talk? Truthfully the answer to this is no. My microwave is something the apartment through in, and I have little bump dots on it marking the buttons I press frequently. Mine looks like a t sort of. I have a dot on the 2 5 8 0 start clear and add 30 seconds. My oven is the same I have a dot on plus or minus bake start and stop. Basically the temperature is done off memory. I know it starts at 350 and goes up or down by 10. I use my IPad for a timer actually, and my finger to check if something is done. Depending on what it is I can use a fork or feel the texture as well. Meat is a good example of this.

I use my phone and IPad a lot for clocks, because they’re always on me. I hate those talking clocks. The most annoying/funny thing is when you’re at a blind convention, and 20 watches go off at different times. I don’t know who invented such a dumb idea as a talking watch, but they make it so intrusive. I wonder what the time is loud ding the time is 1:35 P.M… Now everyone in your meeting or class knows you’re bored. I loved the braille watches, but if you weren’t careful the hands would move under your fingers messing up the time.

I use a color identifier sometimes which you put I’ll call it the eye of the unit on a piece of clothing it will give you the color in voice. One thing funny I remember about this product was at my old job there was a girl named Nikki who I worked with. She wanted me to see if it would say her skin was black, but it said pale pink. That provided about a weeks’ worth of comedy. The device isn’t 100% accurate, but with picking out matching outfits it at least gets you in the ball park.

As far as my TV goes I have Uverse. It is the only service I’ve used that allows for me to control the dvr with my IPhone and is accessible. Time Warner has an app, but for my area the dvr feature isn’t usable. I wish I could have a talking dvr, or that I had the ability to change settings in my TV, but for now it still remains a dream. The Apple TV is also accessible. I love it, and I enjoy it reading menus to me.

Overall the things I use on a daily basis are normal products which I make usable rather than the other way around. The IPhone has really made me less dependent on blindness only products like a bill reader. There are actually a lot of hard feelings between blind people and some of the venders, because they made tons of money off of us over the years. For example as late as 2004 a braille computer would cost $6000 and not even have a gig of storage. You could use SD cards, but for 6 grand probably should have had better specifications. The thought is that basically these companies would make a product pocketing a lot of the cost. While a braille display probably costs a grand or two there really isn’t much cost outside of that. Also it was uncovered a few years ago they’d charge us $200 to send the unit back to do a battery change. One guy opened the back of the computer and it was 6 AA batteries’s taped together. Seriously a $6000 product and you’re using AA batteries and charging people a few hundred for changing it.

2 thoughts on “Adaptive technology on a daily basis

  1. hahaha i so know what you mean out talking watches, they should be banned!

    I love the penfriend for labelling things and openbook for reading printed material

  2. I wish we had more of a mobile solution for reading mail. Sitting down at a computer with Open Book is frustrating. I sold my MAC recently, so I have no computer only an Ipad and Iphone. The Pen Friend is pretty cool I agree!

Leave a Reply

